When Movies Say It Best: “Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers”

I am going to be honest there are far too many quotes from this trilogy that I love and matter to me. I am reserving the right to use more than one post to discuss the quotes of these movies. The first one that really got me was from the second movie though. This line is the last part of a monologue from my favorite character Samwise Gamgee to Frodo. In all honesty, I know the whole monologue by heart, but we won’t go there now.

That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo… and it’s worth fighting for.

Just like the quote from last week, these uplifting and inspiring quotes seem to be long lasting for me. It seems opposite of most other things though. I prefer a sad story or unrequited love more than those who end “happily ever after”, yet my two favorite quotes are those which seem to remind us that things will or at least can turn out okay. I think sometimes we are in the darkest of places, we need such quotes to help get us through.

The funny thing about this movie, is most people hear Lord of the Rings and think fantasy/sci-fi fan. Honestly, I would never have considered myself either. I like movies and TV shows often not for the genre, but what the story is really about. You boil down Lord of the Rings and it is about seven friends who will risk their lives for each other and the world they are willing to save. I think there are far too few friendships and relationships that cause us to act in such ways, but the world would be a better place if there were more of them.

These kind of movies and quotes help me to see past myself. When I say that, I mean it makes me see the effect we have on each other. We all impact those around us, be it in positive or negative ways, but we make an impression on others. Hopefully the impact we make is a positive one. I think that is why I love Sam so much. He is selfless and honest. He is loyal to a fault and loves Frodo more than he loves himself. More than once he put himself in harms way for him, we would all be so lucky to have a friend like him.

Frodo: [continue walking] You’ve left out one of the chief characters – Samwise the Brave. I want to hear more about Sam.

[stops and turns to Sam]

Frodo: Frodo wouldn’t have got far without Sam.

Sam: Now Mr. Frodo, you shouldn’t make fun; I was being serious.

Frodo: So was I.

[they continue to walk]

Sam: Samwise the Brave…

Another of my favorite quotes from the same movie. As Sam and Frodo head deeper into the woods, Frodo reflects on the importance of having Sam. Often times, like those people that mean the most to us, they often don’t realize it. He is the same way. Those people who touch our lives and mean so much often never really know the impact they had.

This movie has meant much to me, this whole series has. Just as these two friends remind us though, often we take those who mean the most to us for granted. Try to remember those who matter to us and remind them as often as we can how much they do. Tell them you love them and you treasure them, because you never know how long you have them in your life. Maybe you are a Frodo or maybe you are a Sam, but either way be the kind of friend to others that you would them to be to you.

Thanks for reading and be sure to stop back every week for a new quote and story! Please share your favorite quotes with me and let me know why they matter to you. If you would like to be featured in a post, please write to me at happymediareviewer@gmail.com.


Leave a comment